– EN Fashion – Barbie will be honoured with the Board of Directors’ Tribute at the 2019 Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) Fashion Awards.
First launched in 1959 by American toy company Mattel, Barbie is undoubtedly the world’s most popular toy doll, with more than a billion sold.
Now, the CFDA’s board – composed of designers such as Michael Kors, Vera Wang, Tommy Hilfiger, and Prabal Gurung – have decided to bestow Barbie with prestigious prize at the upcoming gala in order to acknowledge her enduring influence on fashion.
“Barbie has had such wide influence on American fashion and culture,” said Steven Kolb, president and chief executive officer of the CFDA. “Her story personally resonates with so many CFDA members that the Board of Directors decided to honour her with the special tribute.”
The tribute comes at the perfect time, seeing as Barbie celebrates her 60th anniversary this year. Over the past six decades, the doll has inspired many designers and influencers, with Mattel’s first partnership being with Oscar de la Renta in 1985.
Designer Bob Mackie collaborated with Barbie on a doll in 1990, while more recently, Moschino’s Jeremy Scott unveiled a Barbie-themed line for spring 2015, and Diane von Furstenberg, Zac Posen, Anna Sui, and Wang, are among those who have created their own versions.
“It is a tremendous honour for Barbie to be recognised by the CFDA Board of Directors for her contributions to American fashion. For the past six decades, Barbie has inspired and been inspired by fashion and creative communities,” added Richard Dickson, Mattel’s president and chief operation officer. “Barbie has had the great privilege of collaborating with some of the greatest designer of our time and this award is a moment to celebrate her lasting influence.”
Previous recipients of the Board of Directors’ Tribute include former U.S. First Lady Michelle Obama, Tom Ford, Gloria Steinem, and Janelle Monae.
The 2019 CFDA Fashion Awards will be held on 3 June at the Brooklyn Museum. Others to be feted include French stylist Carine Roitfeld, who will be presented with the Founder’s Award, singer/actress Jennifer Lopez, who will collect the Icon Award, and famed costumer Mackie, who will be feted with the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award.